Office of the Attorney General



DC Agency Top Menu

Attorney General
Karl A. Racine
Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Attorney General Announces 2013-2014 Charles C. Ruff Fellows

Thursday, February 28, 2013

WASHINGTON, DC – District of Columbia Attorney General Irvin B. Nathan today announced the new class of Charles (Chuck) F. C. Ruff Fellows, graduates of local law schools who will work for the next year on District of Columbia legal issues.

The 19 Fellows, all 2012 graduates, are being funded jointly by the DC government and the schools, The George Washington University Law School and Georgetown University Law Center.  They were chosen by the Attorney General’s Office in a competition among top graduates of each school. The Fellows have begun work in the past few weeks.

Fellows from George Washington and their assignments are Patrick Corcoran, Public Safety Division; Alicia Cullen, Public Interest Division; Matthew Lane, Civil Litigation Division; Caliandra Lanza-Weil, Civil Litigation Division; Julia Maus, Office of Solicitor General; Daniel Mayer, Legal Counsel Division; Ali Naini, Civil Litigation Division; David Rabe, Commercial Division; Lauren Sharrock, Family Services Division, and James Vietti, Public Interest Division.

Fellows from Georgetown and their assignments are Charles Coughlin, Civil Litigation Division; Gregory Cumming, Office of Solicitor General; Karen Hu, Personnel, Labor, and Employment Division; Joshua Karpoff, Public Safety Division; Jacob Narva, Attorney General’s immediate office;  Robert Rich, Public Interest Division; Portia Roundtree, Civil Litigation Division; Daniel Snow, Public Safety Division, and Argatonia Weatherington, Public Safety Division.

The first class of 11 Ruff Fellows began working in the Attorney General’s Office in March 2012 and will serve a year.  Seven of the Fellows have since been hired by the office for a permanent position.

The Fellowships were created to provide the District with legal help and to promote public interest legal work.  They are open to any local law school that wishes to participate in the program.  Last year, one of the Fellows was a graduate of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law.  They are named for Charles F. C. Ruff, who served as District of Columbia Corporation Counsel (the position now known as Attorney General) from 1995 to 1997. Ruff, who passed away in 2000, also served as the US Attorney for the District, as White House Counsel to President Bill Clinton, and as a professor at Washington-area law schools.

Attorney General Nathan said, “We are pleased to welcome our new class of outstanding Fellows in this important program. Last year’s Fellows made significant contributions to our work, and we are delighted to have offered permanent jobs to many of them. We have equally high expectations for our new Fellows. We thank the law schools for their continuing partnership in this effort to enhance high-quality public service in the District’s leading law office.”

Media Contacts

  • Ted Gest (202) 727-6283