Office of the Attorney General



DC Agency Top Menu

Attorney General
Karl A. Racine
Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Attorney General Recognizes OAG Attorneys and Administrative Staff for Their Outstanding Work

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Ted Gest, Public Information Officer
[email protected]

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The District of Columbia Office of the Attorney General (OAG) yesterday presented incentive awards to staff members for outstanding work last year. The awards, which were given in a ceremony in the old City Council Chambers at 441 Fourth St., N.W., recognize noteworthy skills, experience, and resourcefulness of OAG employees.

Winners of Distinguished Service Awards were Maureen Zaniel for trial of administrative cases; Carlos Sandoval, trial of affirmative cases; David A. Jackson, trial of defensive cases; Stephanie Litos, preparation of litigation; Joseph A. Gonzalez, support of litigation; Holly Johnson, handling appeals; Katherine Kelley, preparing legal memoranda and legislation; Bradford Patrick, interagency cooperation; Arthur Parker, administrative/supervisory work; Kiesha McCauley-Jackson, advocacy or collections for children; Anthony Rembert, administrative professional work; and Mark Viehmeyer for labor management advocacy.

Andrew Fois, Deputy Attorney General for the Public Safety Division, and Tarifah Coaxum, Chief Administrative Officer directing the Support Services Division, were recognized as the Outstanding Heads of Divisions.

Chad A. Naso, an Assistant Attorney General in the Equity Section of OAG’s public interest division, won the 2013 Charles L. Reischel writing award in honor of the late deputy in the office’s appellate division (now called the Office of the Solicitor General). Because the award was funded by non-public funds – it is provided by Mr. Reischel’s wife, Nancy E. Stanley, it comes with a $500 honorarium (the other awards are non-monetary).  

Additional awards were given to OAG employees for team spirit and for exemplary services that substantially exceeded the norm, for employees who made a significant contribution by a one-time act or service, employees who went the “extra mile” to help their colleagues at great personal cost, and those who have worked in the office for five, ten, fifteen, twenty, twenty-five, thirty, thirty-five or forty years.

Attorney General Irvin B. Nathan, who reinstituted the tradition of an awards ceremony for the office in 2012, thanked everyone who made last year an especially successful one for OAG.  He cited the work of many of the office’s divisions, including the Commercial Division’s work on key development projects, the Public Safety Division’s improvement of impaired-driving prosecutions, the Child Support Services Division’s increase in support awards, and the Public Interest Division’s handling of cases involving the Options Charter School and the District’s budget autonomy process, among others.

The Attorney General said, “It was another banner year for OAG. The office has been recognized by the mayor and his administration, by the courts, agency clients, and the public as an exemplary, competent and effective agency. I am very proud of the very hard working men and women here. The proof of their successes is visible throughout the city.”