AG Racine Welcomes 18 Student Interns as Part of His High School Advisory Council

Local Students Who are Passionate About Their Community and Local Policy Will Partake in 6-Week Intensive Summer Program 

WASHINGTON, D.C Attorney General Karl A. Racine today welcomed 18 new high school students who joined the Office of the Attorney General’s (OAG) 2021 High School Advisory Council (HSAC) for several weeks over the summer to intern for OAG, learn about how the agency operates, and present about various issues at the conclusion of their internship. 

“It’s exciting that we’re already starting the third year of OAG’s High School Advisory Council,” said AG Racine. “This program amplifies the voices of District youth on issues that directly affect them and enables them to learn about our agency and how we work every day to stand up for District residents. We have an exceptional group of students this year, and I’m eager for them to learn and contribute to our office.” 

Launched in 2019, OAG’s HSAC is an intensive six-week, paid program that brings District students together to make important policy recommendations to the Attorney General and his staff. Under the guidance and supervision of OAG professional staff, students are prompted to analyze real world problems to build their decision-making skills around complex issues. The purpose of the program is to give young people a seat at the table in making decisions about critical issues that directly affect them. At the end of the program, students are invited to formally present their policy recommendations to AG Racine and OAG leadership about their assigned issue. Additionally, HSAC members are afforded opportunities to discuss further policy recommendations with AG Racine throughout the year on other issues affecting District youth.  

The 2021 program will focus on juvenile justice reform as it concerns policing in schools, restorative justice, and truancy. Below is this year’s cohort:

  • Diya Bardwell, Ward 6, BASIS DC 
  • Mihret Bekere, Ward 4, Parkmont School 
  • Kayla Bethea, Ward 4, Benjamin Banneker Academic High School 
  • Allison Bleimehl, Ward 4, Washington Latin Public Charter School 
  • Jaiden Burney, Ward 7, Richard Montgomery High School 
  • Tiara Crutchfield, Ward 7, School Without Walls High School 
  • Damion Davis, Ward 7, Ron Brown College Preparatory High School 
  • Jonah Frumkin, Ward 4, Woodrow Wilson High School 
  • Camille Jones, Ward 4, Capital City Public Charter School alum, will be attending North Carolina A&T  
  • Kiarra Lucas, Ward 5, Andover High School 
  • Henry Marks, Ward 6, Duke Ellington School of the Arts 
  • Janiah Piper, Ward 8, Thurgood Marshall Academy alum, will be attending the University of Rochester 
  • Malvika Reddy, Georgetown Day School 
  • Shamir Riley, Ward 3, Duke Ellington School of the Arts  
  • Myra Shalaty, Ward 4, School Without Walls High School 
  • Sylvia Shorter, Ward 8, Anacostia High School 
  • Luca Trabocchi, Ward 1, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School 
  • Yakira Vincent, Ward 8, Benjamin Banneker Academic High School 

To be a part of the 2022 High School Advisory Council, please direct questions to Please note that we will be accepting applicants through the Mayor Marion S. Barry Summer Youth Employment Program. More information about their 2022 application process will be updated on their website.