Immediate Office

The Immediate Office sets the direction for the Office of the Attorney General (OAG). It is responsible for establishing the policy priorities that the organization pursues and ensuring that the OAG consistently provides high quality legal services to the District agencies the OAG supports. The Immediate Office also manages community relations and communications for the OAG. The office reports directly to Attorney General Racine.

Immediate Office Leadership

Karl A. Racine
Attorney General
karl.racine@dc.gov

Jason Downs
Chief Deputy Attorney General
jason.downs@dc.gov

Christian Barrera
Chief Operating Officer
christian.barrera@dc.gov

Vikram Swaruup
Senior Counsel to the Attorney General
vikram.swaruup@dc.gov

Emily Gunston
Senior Counsel to the Attorney General
emily.gunston@dc.gov

Gary Kohlman
Senior Counsel for Litigation
gary.kohlman@dc.gov

Ashita Greenwood
Senior Executive Assistant to the AG & Chief Deputy AG
ashita.greenwood@dc.gov

Tameko Edwards
Senior Executive Assistant to the AG & Chief Deputy AG
tameko.edwards@dc.gov

Abigail McDonough
Director of Communications
Abigail.McDonough@dc.gov

Aurélie Mathieu 
Assistant Attorney General for Policy and Legislative Affairs
aurelie.mathieu@dc.gov 

Marta Paravano
Director, Practice Administration and Practice Technology
marta.paravano@dc.gov

Chris Tonjes
Chief Information Officer
chris.tonjes@dc.gov

Contact number: (202) 727-3400